PUB­LISHED TWO TIMES PER YEAR, SAD MAG IS THE ONLY MAG­A­ZINE DEDICATED TO COV­ER­ING VANCOUVER’S INDE­PEN­DENT ARTS AND CUL­TURE FROM THE PER­SPEC­TIVE OF LOCAL, EMERG­ING WRIT­ERS AND ARTISTS.

Our man­date is to advance artis­tic accom­plish­ment via pro­mo­tion of lit­er­acy, writ­ing, art, and pub­lic dis­course among emerg­ing cre­atives in Van­cou­ver. We seek to cre­ate a venue for writ­ers, pho­tog­ra­phers, and illus­tra­tors as well as make-up artists, fash­ion styl­ists, per­form­ers, design­ers, and com­mu­ni­ca­tions pro­fes­sion­als to show­case their work.

The SAD Magazine Publishing Society is a registered non-profit and completely volunteer-run. We print locally with MET Fine Printers, a carbon-neutral company. 

Want to get in on the action? Send us your story ideas or sub­scribe.

 


 

WHO IS SAD?

Pamela Rou­nis, Co-Publisher, Creative Director & Host of the SADCAST  |  Pamela@sadmag.ca

Katie Stew­art, Co-Publisher & Programming Director |  Katie@sadmag.ca

Meredyth Cole, Editor in Chief  |  Meredyth@sadmag.ca

Megan Jenk­ins, Managing Editor  |  Megan@sadmag.ca

Madeline Barber,  Managing Editor  |  Madeline@sadmag.ca

Keagan Perlette, Poetry & Prose Editor  |  Keagan@sadmag.ca

Robyn Humphreys, Art Coordinator  |  Robyn@sadmag.ca

Kenneth Ormandy, Typographer

Michael Mateyko, Designer  |  Michael@sadmag.ca

Mustaali Raj, Designer  |  Mustaali@sadmag.ca

Sabrina Miso, Fact Checker

Katrina Vera Wong, Proofreader

Ashley Visvanathan, Marketing & Promotions designer  |  Ashley@sadmag.ca

Sarah Bakke, Web Editor  |  Sarah@sadmag.ca

Sarah Thompson, Web Editor  |  SarahT@sadmag.ca

Emilia Kalka, Digital Art Curator  |  Curator@sadmag.ca

Jackie Hoffart, Booker & Host of SAD Comedy

Todd LeBlanc, Audio/Visual Coordinator

Helen Wong, Cura­to­r­ial Assistant

Jonathan James, Business Manager  |  Jonathan@sadmag.ca

Hannah Bellamy, Development Director  |  Hannah@sadmag.ca

Deanne Beat­tie and Bran­don Gaukel, Co-Founders


 Ad Sales  |  Advertising@sadmag.ca
Distribution  |  Distribution@sadmag.ca

Subscriptions  |  Subscriptions@sadmag.ca
 

 

THE SAD MAG BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Maryam Bagheri, Natasha Campbell, Michelle Cyca, Taryn Hardes,
Zeenat Lokhandwala, Danielle Palfrey, Kristin Ramsey (Co-Chair)
Emily Ross (Co-Chair), Adam Timler, Gillian Wong.

 

Friends of SAD Mag

CAG • Kroma Acrylics  •  Make  •  Mills Basic  •  Obscurior  •  Poetry is Dead  •  Rain City Chronicles
Real Vancouver Writers Series  •  Remington Gallery  •  The Lab  •  Untitled (art space) 
Metropolitan Fine Printers •  Fawkes & Holly •  Stocksy  •  Quietly

 

Donors to the magazine

Madeline Barber • Joelle Barron • Veronica Best • Carling Borne • Rachel Burns • Jowita Bydlowska
Alice Clair • Meredyth Cole • James Giffords • Megan Jenkins • Sarah Maitland • Tierney Milne
Alanna Munro • Stephanie Orford • Kenneth Ormandy •  Paloma Pacheco •  Kristin Ramsey
Meaghan Rondeau •  Amanda Lee Smith • Lauren Zbarsky

 

SUPPORT FOR SAD MAG

We gratefully acknowledge the support provided by the BC Arts Council & the City of Vancouver.

 
bc-arts-council-logo.jpg
City-of-Vancouver.jpg
 

 

VOLUNTEERING AND INTERNSHIPS

SAD Mag is cur­rently accepting applications for a number of roles! Check them out on our Volunteers page.

While everyone is welcome to apply, we strongly pre­fer to recruit indi­vid­u­als who are already very famil­iar with the magazine—so if you hope to get involved on the edi­to­r­ial or design teams, the best method is to con­tribute to an upcom­ing issue and let us get to know you.

If you have questions about volunteer roles, please contact the publishing team at hello@sadmag.ca

  

ADVERTISING & Distribution

We reach more than 10,000 creative professionals interested in art and culture each year through our print publication and event programming. We have prominent community partnerships with organizations including Rain City Chronicles, PechaKucha, Vancouver Art/Book Fair, and more.

Click here to download a rate sheet and information about carrying SAD Mag in your shop. Contact advertising@sadmag.ca with any inquiries.